Australia announces 15-man squad for T20 World Cup 2022

Australia have named their squad to defend the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title, adding the firepower of a late-over specialist. Tim David, the 26-year-old hard-hitting batter from Singapore, has been picked by the selectors in the 15-man squad.

The same team, led by Aaron Finch, will travel to India for a three-match T20I series and then return to play matches against England, West Indies in preparation for the mega tournament.

Notably, Australia won their maiden T20 World Cup in the UAE last year.

George Bailey, the head of selectors, has welcomed the new addition of David into the T20 World Cup squad, with the omission of right-arm spinner Mitch Swepson to give Finch another option with the bat.

“Tim (David) continues to establish himself with some quality performances in leagues around the world, earning a place in the squad. He is a highly gifted, natural ball striker who will add extra batting depth to the group which has had a lot of success in T20 cricket,” said Bailey.

“We expect him to play a similar role to that he has been playing in the past few years.

“Mitchell Swepson was unlucky to miss out based on conditions in the UAE at the last World Cup where we planned for tired, spinning wickets compared to what we would expect are good batting conditions along with the larger grounds in Australia.”

The reigning champions will begin their T20 World Cup campaign in Sydney on October 22 when they take on their trans-Tasman rivals New Zealand at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

Australia squad:

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.